Brisbane home record 2023: Lions set for rare AFL feat at Gabba

With a win over Port Adelaide on Saturday, Brisbane secured its 12th home game win of the year. 

The Gabba has become a fortress for the Lions, and with one more match at the stadium still to come, the club could make rare history. 

A preliminary final victory would see Brisbane finish undefeated at home, with 13 wins at the ground this season. 

It’s hardly anything new for coach Chris Fagan’s side, who hold a better home-win percentage (81.54) than Geelong (80) in the past five seasons. 

MORE: Brisbane vs Port Adelaide highlights, result as Lions get Gabba singing

Brisbane Lions home record in 2023

Brisbane finished the home-and-away season with a 12-0 win-loss ratio, before producing a monumental effort in the qualifying final to dispatch Port Adelaide by 48 points. 

The last team to stay unbeaten at home during the minor rounds? Brisbane in 2020. Although that side would later lose a preliminary final to Geelong at the Gabba. 

Looking back further, Richmond was 11-0 at home during its blistering 2018 season before a shock loss came to Collingwood in the finals. 

That leaves Hawthorn in its 2014 premiership year as the last team to remain truly undefeated at home across a full season. 

The Hawks were 11-0 as the home team during the minor round and won three matches at the MCG to secure their second of three flags. 

While Brisbane will have to find victory at the MCG to secure its first premiership in 19 years, a preliminary final win at the Gabba and an unbeaten home season would be an amazing achievement. 

MORE: AFL Brownlow votes predictor: Lachie Neale among top chances

AFL/VFL best unbeaten home streaks

Geelong are the kings of the home game, according to recent history. The Cats own the two biggest home win streaks on record, proving that Kardinia Park (GMHBA Stadium) is the toughest trip in football. 

You’d have to go back to the Demons in 1957 to see a side win as many consecutive home games as Geelong did in its golden years. 

The Lions’ all-time record sits at 22 straight home wins, which was achieved under captain Michael Voss from 2001 to 2003 — three premiership years. 

Brisbane’s current streak tallies 13 games, with the last loss at the Gabba coming to Melbourne in Round 23 last year. 

Win streak Team Years
30 Geelong 2008–2010
27 Geelong 2012–2014
26 Melbourne 1957–1960
24 South Melbourne 1934–1936
24 Richmond 1932–1935

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top